Subject: Ever heard of artmesh.org?
| Posted By: lenyart
|
| Posted On: 12/15/2007 3:39 AM
(Updated on 1/7/2008 1:01 AM by lenyart)
|
7 Replies
|
I received this 'personal' invitation in my message box on the Saatchi Salesroom from artmesh.org. Never heard of them.
My initial reaction: 'Why me?' & 'You are?' in either order.
So, here it is:
'we are currently starting an exclusive international art network ( www.artmesh.org) from here in Berlin for artists, art professionals, gallery owners and art collectors. We are searching for people in the art sector, that share the same interest, enthusiasm and passion on art and of course as well for inspiring artists.
[...]We have just started artmesh eight weeks ago, but are already getting very positive response from the professional artworld. [...] We see artmesh as a platform, where members connect with their real contacts from the artworld and by that getting closer together and benefit from the better information basis. Also we want to establish artmesh as a collaborational platform, where artists can find partners for exhibitions or other art projects. We have set up by now the networking features, a group section, where people can set up groups for likeminded people (private or public), but have also many more features ahead.
Please regard that this is a personal invitation that is reserved only for you. Of course you can invite other artist friends or other personal contacts on the platform once you are a member. Only members can invite other members, but are requested just to invite contacts, they personally know, so that we can establish a trusted network.
If you have any questions, do not hesitate to contacting me. Of course the platform is free of any charge. I am looking forward to having you as a member. Best regards Daniel Brueckner'
I don't dispute the concept, we're all part of an online community here.
However,when I looked it up on Google, the usual approach of the 'ordinary' Internet user when searching for anything, it couldn't even let me see the site without installing the cookies to sign in. This 'personal' invitation includes the password link to get in.
So, I looked it up on the Saatchi message board - and yes, responses from the oh so many 'selected few' range from 'why not' to 'scam' to 'what's the point' and 'who's going to see the work?' And some who've actually joined were subsequently asked for their social security number and credit card details.
2008 UPDATE: the 'SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER' was apparently mistaken for a 'SECURITY NUMBER CAPTCHA' where you have to type in those letters/numbers displayed in a picture. Further info on the Imagekind forum.
Still no explanation about the credit cards details request.
L.
|
|
|
|